Process Note

For my extended version of my adaptation I decided to keep Aesop’s ideas of what fairy tales should portray and how you go about portraying that. Over this semester, I learned more and more about my selected fairy tale and the history it has. As I did research about my chosen tale I discovered Aesop. Aesop was a Greek icon who was most known for his storytellings. Overtime I learned that he was actually a slave with hidden incredible intellectual abilities. Once the slave owners discovered this about him, they decided to release him and that is when he became more popular. This is when he began spreading these stories. As i researched I discovered that he usually never gave his characters names and that he creates these stories in hope to project positive morals into people. In discover of this I knew how I wanted to add this into my extended adaptation. Although, I didn’t want to extend the original message that I already created in it. I wanted to add another important message that I am passionate about. That message being that no matter what you go through, what you are going through, or what kind of person you have become, you can always be better. There’s always room for improvement no matter what situation you are in, As long as you put your heart and soul into it, you can become the person you strive to be. It isn’t going to be easy by any stretch of the imagination, but it is possible. I did this by going into the future and having the boy who was in the original story all grown up. By doing this I was able to show the changes he made as a person from a before and after perspective. In my extended adaptation the boy, now a man is now a motivational and inspirational speaker to his village. This was a way of him paying back the people who raised into the man he is today. As I continued on with trying to portray this message, a more subtle message popped up as well. Once I noticed this, that is when I added the other character into my extended adaptation. That character being another boy. This boy would eventually follow in the man’s footsteps sort of like a father and son. The underlying message that I was trying to get across was the idea of passing it along. The “it” being a good deed. The main idea with this is if someone went out of their way to do you a favor or helped you out in anyway, you should then go out of your way to help or aid someone else. This idea of passing good deeds to one another can slowly make this world a better and happier place which is the ultimate goal especially with what is going on in this day and age. By adding that message in it wrapped back to one of my underlying messages in my original story being “treat people with kindness.” Comparing my adaptation to the original story written by Aesop, you may not think that these stories have a whole lot in common. In the original you don’t see what happened to the boy in the future. The last thing you know was he was crying and his fellow villagers were disappointed in him. That isn’t the best of notes to leave off on, especially if your audience is geared towards children. That’s why I decided to add a positive vibe in the end. With doing this, it also created another positive message children should learn. These two stories almost speak to each other in a contrasting kind of way. Everyone has different taste in stories, so whether they like a sad ending or a happy one is dependent upon which story they read  That being said, learning and researching Aesop had a major effect on how I went about extending my adaptation of The Boy Who Cried Wolf.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started